JAKOB FICHERT & ORPHEUS SOLOISTS (Ensemble in Residence 2013)


10 years Orpheus Soloists - 100 years Benjamin Britten
Benjamin Britten: Phantasy Quartet Νο. 2 in F minor  
Claude Debussy: Sonata for flute, viola and harp,L.137
Sergei Prokofiev: Ouverture on jewish themes for clarinet string quartet and piano, Op. 34
Johannes Brahms: Quintet for piano and string quartet,Op. 34 in F minor 
The Orpheus Soloists  since  their very first performances in Vafopoulio Center, Avlaia Theatre, Festival "Incontri Musicali d 'Estate" Italy, and later on in Festival "Dimitria", Megaron - Thessaloniki Concert Hall and Museum of Contemporary Art, won the enthusiasm, love and respect of the audience.
A chamber music ensemble, with its core consisting of a string quartet, a woodwind quintet, harp, piano / harpsichord and percussion - particularly versatile, with the ability and knowledge of its members being able to cope with the demands of the repertoire with special awareness and  respect to the style of each composer.
The excellent musicians who compose the ensemble with their experience, skills and hard work are proud of the results of high quality musicianship by promising  an internationally acclaimed level of chamber music.
Prominent artists such as Maria Asteriadou, Vladimir Mendelssohn, Philipp Jundt, Hanna Weinmeister, Kurt Nikkanen, Rudolf Koelman, Leonidas Kavakos are cooperating members of Orpheus Soloists in various productions.
Musical education especially in terms of chamber music and orchestra playing is an important part of the ensemble’s work.  For 2009-2010 Orpheus Soloists were ensemble in residence at the Conservatory of Northern Greece. As part of this collaboration, the ensemble taught and performed, giving the possibility to integrate young talented music students in certain projects, who gained valuable experience in chamber music.
In 2012, Orpheus Soloists successfully organized the 1st National Chamber Music Competition in which young talented musicians were chosen to get musically prepared by members of the ensemble and collaborate with the ensemble itself in important concerts and projects.
For 2013 Orpheus Soloists are celebrating  their 10th anniversary and have the honor of be ensemble in residence at the Megaron Thessaloniki Concert Hall. The residency includes chamber music concerts in collaboration with excellent soloists and artists, innovative projects, educational programs, opera productions, and workshops.
This year's concert season has a very significant importance to Orpheus Soloists since a wide range of B. Britten’s works, whose 100th anniversary is celebrated, are going to be performed throughout 2013. On top of that, the participation of Orpheus Soloists as ensemble in residence in St George International Music Festival this summer and collaboration with renowned artists of international acclaim is once more confirmed for this year.
The artistic director of the ensemble is Dimitris Kitsos.


9€, 5€ (students)

  • 30 January 2013
    Wed     21:00  (EMILIOS RIADIS HALL M2)